Finished!

The 5+ year long journey to become a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) is finally over.

It began with an application to graduate school and has now ended with passing my final licensing exam this past week.finishline1

If you are a social worker you know what this means. For all non-social workers out there this means, 2 years of graduate school, passing the initial licensing exam (LMSW), finding gainful social work employment that meets “clinical criteria”, finding a supervisor,  submitting a plan to the board (that is often rejected), spending 4 hours a month in supervision over a minimum of 24 months to reach the required 100 supervision hours, resubmit forms proving your worth in order to sit for the licensing exam, being approved, finding time to study and take the licensing exam, and finally passing. Once you have passed the LCSW exam I think, I hope, there will be no more standardized tests, no need to have your employment and plan approved by the board, and no further licensure that would limit a person from social work job opportunities.

It all started with a big goal. Many little goals along the way helped get me to this point. It took me a little longer than I intended but since day one of graduate school I have been working towards this goal. I am so glad it is finally here so I can make room for the next goal in my social work life!

~ Andrea

2 thoughts on “Finished!

  1. That gives me hope that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. 6 months in with the process and it feels like it is taking forever!!

Leave a Reply

